top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturehikingmissmacy

What's in my hiking first aid kit?

As many of you know one of the most important things a person can carry while hiking beside water and food is their first aid kit. I'll start off by saying, I made my own first aid kit. I just wasn't sold on the ones that were pretty expensive at the stores. However, if you don't know where to start a basic first aid kit should give you an idea of what the essentials are. Being a nurse I have a lot of random medical supplies at home so that is where I started when creating my first aid kit. Also with that being said my first aid kit is probably a lot larger than most hikers so if you're going for a lightweight pack you might have to look elsewhere or really customize the pack to your needs specifically.


Here are my essentials in my first aid kit:

  • triangle bandage

  • Neosporin or something similar

  • Cortisone cream or some kind of anti itch cream/wipes

  • medical scissors

  • tape

  • bandages of all sizes a couple of each

  • tweezers

  • invisible bandaids

  • wet wipes

  • tissues

  • gauze

  • chapstick with SPF in it

  • Moleskin for blisters

  • sunscreen face stick

  • toilet paper

  • bug spray

  • a multi use knife

  • hand sanitizer

  • disposable mask

  • latex gloves

  • alcohol swabs

  • mini tube of sunscreen

  • Ibuprofen and Tylenol

  • black electrical tape is also something I substituted for regular duct tape, electrical tape comes in small rolls and is just as effective at $1 a roll, however I did find out they do sell mini folded duct tape just for hiking, but I felt you really don’t get much for the amount you pay for it.

  • I would also recommend taking any essential medication you cannot live without for 2 or 3 days

Until Next Time,

Macy



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page